Detox Time!

I am so excited! I got my 9 Day Isagenix Cleanse order in last night and today starts my cleanse! I guess in a way I started my cleanse yesterday with a massage. Love the feeling the day of a massage. Getting the toxins released from deep in the muscle tissue. Relaxing and drinking a LOT of water the day of a massage works best! Ahh massages rock! So detoxifying is new to me. I have NEVER done one and after doing all the research on why they are beneficial AND necessary I am smacking myself for waiting THIS long into my health journey to start! With all the junk we eat, breathe, and put onto our skin can be full of toxins! We all need to be more mindful of these things! We can’t see the damage we are doing, but it’s being done and we will suffer for it later. I found a good article on Food Matters website that I wanted to pass along about detoxing.

Why Detox
Our bodies naturally detoxify everyday as part of a normal body process. Detoxification is one of the body’s most basic automatic functions of eliminating and neutralizing toxins through the colon, liver, kidneys, lungs, lymph and skin. Unfortunately in this day and age, with the pollution found in the air, water and food we eat, our bodies have a hard time keeping up. Our chemicalized diet with too much animal protein, too much saturated and trans fats, too much caffeine and alcohol radically changes our internal ecosystem.

Body systems and organs that were once capable of cleaning out unwanted substances are now completely over-loaded to the point where toxic material remains inside our tissues. Our bodies try to protect us from dangerous substances by setting it aside, surrounding it with mucous and fat so that it will not cause an imbalance or trigger an immune response (some people carry up to 15 extra pounds of mucous that harbors this waste)

Detoxification through special cleansing diets and colonics is the best way to assist your body’s natural self-cleaning system. It is especially important for immune-compromised diseases like cancer, arthritis, diabetes and chronic fatigue. However, even if your diet is good, a spring cleanse can revitalize your system and rid your body of harmful bacteria, viruses and parasites. It is a simple three step process.

 

Since today is day 1, I wanted to document how I felt prior to starting this 9 day detox:

*Tired
*I felt a cold coming on yesterday
* Major cravings
* I had bags under my eyes no matter how much water I drank
* Irritable
* VERY dry skin
*Migraines (got two in the last week)

Starting stats: Weight 141 Bodyfat 20%

 

Today is a shake day on my Isagenix Detox Plan.  This is what my meals look like today

68626_10200404450097537_2135566236_n734667_10200404560700302_1168233619_n

 

Who says you have to starve yourself while detoxing! Not this girl!

About musklemom

I am 33 years old. I am a mother, a friend, a daughter, a girlfriend, a fitness enthusiast, promoter of holistic nutrition and living, Isagenix Consultant, animal lover, country girl, mountain woman, weight lifter...FIT MOM!

Leave a comment