Holidays

They come around so quickly and end just as fast. Lots of eating, gift giving, good times, and family. This holiday season is going to be especially difficult for me.  I don’t like to live with regret but right now I am. My mom and I talked the other night about how my grandma really wanted us all together for a Thanksgiving or Christmas, and how we never made it. It seemed to boil down to finances or being too busy. Now that she is gone and I can’t have that last holiday with her I do have some regret. At church on Sunday we talked about how we shouldn’t want what our neighbors have and we should trust in God and knowing that he will provide for us. My grandma always said that as well and she lived by that. I was so wrapped up with worrying about tomorrow’s problems…So with that said although I may be a bit down this holiday season, but I’m going to enjoy every minute with my family and loved ones without worry.  I’m going to pray and thank God for all he has blessed us with. And of course I’m going to make gnoochies tomorrow in honor of my grandma. I know she is here with us in her own way now.

And of course you better believe come Friday morning my butt will be in the gym getting ready to train for the 2011 season, instead of shopping for items we don’t need 🙂

I hope you all have a Happy Thanksgiving!! I want to share this recipe for Pumpkin Pie I found here (Paleo style of course!)

Primal Pumpkin Pie

This pie is gluten-free, grain-free, dairy-free, and refined-sugar-free.
I adapted this recipe from one at 101 cookbooks.   Enjoy!

The crust:
1 ½ cups almond flour
¼ cup melted butter
1 tsp salt

The filling:
1 ½ cups of pumpkin puree*
3 eggs
1 cup coconut milk
½ cup honey
1 tablespoon arrowroot starch
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon salt

Prepare the crust:  Combine melted butter, almond flour and salt in a bowl and mix well.  Transfer to a 9 inch pie plate and press evenly into the bottom and sides of the plate.

Prepare the filling:  Combine all filling ingredients in a bowl and mix well.

Gently pour the filling into the crust and bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes or until the center of the pie ‘sets’ (is no longer liquidy). Be sure to check on the pie about half way through. If the crust starts to get too dark, attach strips of aluminum foil to the perimeter, covering the crust, to keep it from getting burnt.

* Halve 2 small pie pumpkins, remove the seeds, and slice them into large wedges.  Rub the wedges with a little oil and roast on a baking sheet in a 400 degree oven for about an hour.  At that point you can scoop out the soft flesh from the skin and puree in a blender and food processor.  If this doesn’t interest you, you can just buy a can of pumpkin puree (just make sure you’re buying plain old pumpkin, not pre-spiced pumpkin pie filling).

About musklemom

I am 33 years old. I am a mother, a friend, a daughter, a girlfriend, a fitness enthusiast, promoter of holistic nutrition and living, Isagenix Consultant, animal lover, country girl, mountain woman, weight lifter...FIT MOM!

Leave a Reply

