Endurance is my enemy!

I had an awesome shoulder workout today! I do really well in the strength part of my workouts. I’m even pretty decent at short speed distance. Long endurance training is another story! I thought I would get an early start in my training (focusing on running right now)…So I set my goal at running/walking a mile. LOL I did a mile in 12 min 30 sec! S A D ! I could run for 2-3 min bursts then walk. I do blame a bit on the boredom factor. Staring into a blank gym wall isn’t what I call motivating. Lucky for me my real training will be done outdoors (mainly) and Colorado has some really gorgeous scenery for me to enjoy! This is going to be a big challenge for me in every aspect. But I welcome new challenges !!Β  I think I may even have my hubby convinced to do it with me and one of my best friends from college may come out to race too! Now that is motivation!

Tomorrow I go to get my muscle testing done again and am excited to see what foods and supplements my body responds the best to and can’t wait to hear what the Dr has for suggestions on what carbs to eat for energy. That will be my dietary challenge since I am going to focus on Paleo/Primal eating during all of this.Β  My guess so far is lots and lots of veggies, sweet potatoes, and I may sneak in some organic oats and Ezekiel bread. Wonder if I can get Tim to eat with me like this too…hmm.. πŸ™‚

Since my kiddos don’t have Steelers shirts…Go Pack!

I am really tempted to get a pair of those shoes with the toes… any feedback on these?

About musklemom

I am 33 years old. I am a mother, a friend, a daughter, a girlfriend, a fitness enthusiast, promoter of holistic nutrition and living, Isagenix Consultant, animal lover, country girl, mountain woman, weight lifter...FIT MOM!

3 responses to “Endurance is my enemy!”

  1. Jocelyn says :

    So okay I’ve been running which I’ve NEVER liked, okay I found that by going SLOWER I can go longer. So now I’ve gotten up to a 5 mile run but I’m running between 10 & 11 mins per mile. Before I’d never let myself go that slow but it’s so much easier to build endurance & aerobic conditioning, I figure speed could come later, if not I’m just not so worried about that personally. That is SO GREAT that you have a coach, I’m also impressed with anyone who does Paleo. I think you’ll have a hard time getting in enough food later on though when you’re doing much more cardio. Ezekiel is great & fruits & veggies but when you’re running your body doesn’t like solid food, it’s hard enough just to make yourself drink water (at least for me), so good luck figuring that one out πŸ™‚ Just rooting you on babe πŸ™‚

  2. Sherry says :

    I have a pair of the Treksport. They have thicker soles than the others. Better for more activities. I like them. I noticed I was running different from day 1. My suggestion though is to definitely go to a store to try them on and do not order online. I tried on 3 different styles and could only get my foot into the Treksport. Its challengind at first to get them on, but I literally couldnt do it with the other 2 pairs. The shoes look ridiculous, but I think everyone needs a pair!

Leave a Reply

