Yep, I think I will give it a shot!

At our weekly sales meeting at Golds yesterday we met with Joe, our new triathlon trainer.  Now I have NEVER ever thought about doing this simply because #1 I despise to run…I mean like really really hate it and #2 I can’t really swim. I can float and swim UNDER water but I have NO clue how to swim above water without looking like a fish trying to save its life in shallow waters…you know flopping around frantically? Ya thats me.  What interested me was two things. First this guy was well old enough to be my dad. He’s done a LOT of marathons and tri’s. Second he mentioned a sprint tri. Hmm..shorter distance, still can muscle train, and of course a challenge! Why not! I am the most nervous about the swim part. For reason mentioned above and of course because you swim in lakes (or here reservoirs) WITH fish in it. F  R E A K S me out like you wouldn’t believe! Ugh so 2 fears to get over! They are starting the training I believe in January with the goals of doing one in June or July.

Here’s to another challenge! *cheers*

About musklemom

I am 33 years old. I am a mother, a friend, a daughter, a girlfriend, a fitness enthusiast, promoter of holistic nutrition and living, Isagenix Consultant, animal lover, country girl, mountain woman, weight lifter...FIT MOM!

5 responses to “Yep, I think I will give it a shot!”

  1. Julia says :

    I do short tri’s in conjunction with competition training .. its actually quite fun .. im sure you will have a blast!

  2. Julie says :

    I totally had to learn how to swim for my first tri. It was the hardest part of training for me…5 months of torture…but it ended up being my favorite leg of the race…and continues to be my favorite to this day!
    You’ll do great!

    • musklemom says :

      Really Julie?! I thought I’d be the only one who can’t really swim crazy enough to try this 🙂 Glad to know you did it and loved it!! Very encouraging, thank you!

  3. Tracey chosa says :

    are you going to do it?? this was going to be my goal for 2011.. the sprint one(smaller one) I have to start swimming though.. I know how just haven’t swam in a while long distance!!! Going to start training this january too!!! maybe we could save money up and we could meet somewhere and do it!! little vacation??? 🙂

Leave a Reply

