Motivation starts with a desire…

We all want things. It can range from something small such as a glass of water to something huge like a change of career. What is it that gets us to what we want? Well it starts with a need or a desire. Then that turns into a plan (motivation) to get that need or want. Here I’m specifically thinking of personal weight loss/fitness goals. People ask me all the time how I lost 85 pounds. Well it started with me being completely uncomfortable in my own skin. And lets face it, if you can’t even be comfortable being YOU how can you be comfortable in ANY situation or with ANY other person?? You really can’t. It took me well over 3 years to finally get that plan in order and to really get that motivation kicked into high gear. Why did it take so long? Good question! For me it was the lack of confidence. I made up every excuse in the book…” I’m too tired” “I don’t have the money” “I’m too busy” ”  I will start Monday”‘…list goes on. I’m sure if you have set any fitness goals for yourself more than likely you have come up with the same or similar excuses. Something snaps inside when you are mentally ready to reach that goal. I hear people daily at my job of their wants/needs/desires for what they what to achieve with fitness/weight loss. Some small like losing 5 lbs some are bigger like losing 100 lbs. Yet most can’t achieve what they set their hearts out to do. Why? Maybe they don’t have the support or they don’t think they have support. Thats huge. I was lucky. My family was supportive (and the fact that I do what I want anyway 🙂 ). But I met a LOT of supportive people along the way. I’ve made friends who have held my hand and pushed me when I needed to be pushed. Deciding to lose weight isn’t an easy task alone. But being healthy IS easier than being unhealthy AND it is less expensive in the long run!

This is the time of year to set goals and stick to them.  Stop with the excuses, dust off your gym bag and get to it.  Shut off all the negative nelly’s in your life and do for you want you want! There is support out there, just look in the right places!

Now for me…back to the gym!

About musklemom

I am 33 years old. I am a mother, a friend, a daughter, a girlfriend, a fitness enthusiast, promoter of holistic nutrition and living, Isagenix Consultant, animal lover, country girl, mountain woman, weight lifter...FIT MOM!

Leave a Reply

