Thyroid..What?!

The pink thingy is your thyroid…

Many women have a thyroid problem, whether we know it or not. I have been doing some research since I discovered I have hypothyroidism (under active thyroid) about 3 years ago.  I thought I would write a short blog about it because I hear a LOT of women who have weight to lose say they can’t because of their under active thyroid. Well I’m here to tell you that its NOT easy but it IS doable! First you have to understand your own body. Just because a doctor tells you that you are within “normal” range and don’t need meds or a med increase, doesn’t mean he/she is right! I know personally I need to have my levels on the low end of their scale or else I get tired, depressed, and HUNGRY, and have a tough time losing fat. Well when we have a out of whack thyroid our weight will suffer..after all it is the fat burning gland.

Hypothyroidism Symptoms:

  • fatigue
  • weakness
  • weight gain
  • difficulty losing weight
  • coarse, dry hair,
  • dry skin
  • hair loss
  • cold intolerance (you can’t tolerate cold temperatures like those around you)
  • muscle cramps and frequent muscle aches
  • constipation
  • depression
  • irritability
  • memory loss
  • abnormal menstrual cycles
  • decreased libido.

What to do if you have these symptoms?? Go see your doc! Tell them whats up! And ask them to check your T3, T4, and TSH levels. Usually you have to ask..one doctor told me I was depressed and tried to put me on depression meds…geeze!!

Here is a good article to read from Precision Nutrition.

What IF you have a low thyroid?? Well ladies and gents. Its NOT the end of the world. You may be on medication for the rest of your life. But its a teeny tiny little pill you take once in the AM when you wake up. But we need to remember that now we can’t eat like we did when we were teenagers and burn fat just from breathing. We need to follow with a healthy diet and exercise DAILY (something we should do anyway). There is still research I’d like to do on natural alternatives to thyroid probs so if you know of some shout out!!

I have learned that natural thyroid medications are made from pig thyroid since it is close to the function as ours…

About musklemom

I am 33 years old. I am a mother, a friend, a daughter, a girlfriend, a fitness enthusiast, promoter of holistic nutrition and living, Isagenix Consultant, animal lover, country girl, mountain woman, weight lifter...FIT MOM!

Leave a Reply

