Challenging Myself

I have been going back in forth with competing this past year. Do I do it? Do I do figure or bikini? Do I do NPC or stick with the natural federations? I set a date and then change my mind. Don’t get me wrong, I love the competition world and will compete again someday. But until then I want to learn about my body, how it works and I want to do this myself. I have always had a strong passion for nutrition and training, I can remember this all the way back to when I was in middle school. I started to take it more serious when I did BFL back in 1999. I have been looking into attending UCCS and majoring in Nutrition. I’m thinking this fall or next, not sure yet. Anyway, I have actually been enjoying being trainer-less (actually I am having a friend from Golds help me. I must say that he has a LOT of knowledge and in my opinion one of the best trainers there, but I am doing my own food plans!) and playing with food and workouts and seeing some amazing results.  I have a goal in mind and I want to learn how to achieve it. I don’t want anyone else telling me what to eat or do and I don’t feel like being judged at a show.

Here is my goal:

*Bring up shoulders
*Tighten abs
*Lean out legs(especially inner thigh)
*Gain more endurance. I live in a state with so many outdoor endurance sports that I want to enjoy!
*Maintain the desired physique!

I am going to give myself 12-15 weeks to achieve this (or see where my plan takes me in this time frame). I will document each meal plan (in detail) and each workout. I will also be posting pictures to follow my progress.

Here are some things I am going to keep consistent:

*Drink at least 1 gallon of purified water
*Give myself a “refeed meal” once a week
*Do some sort of exercise/physical activity 6 days a week.
*Enjoy my family and friends and NOT deprive myself. I don’t want to look at this process as deprivation, but a learned lifestyle.
*Incorporate Yoga into my workouts.

So that is that! Who’s to say I come out of this ready to compete? Never know and I’m not stressing myself out over it.

About musklemom

I am 33 years old. I am a mother, a friend, a daughter, a girlfriend, a fitness enthusiast, promoter of holistic nutrition and living, Isagenix Consultant, animal lover, country girl, mountain woman, weight lifter...FIT MOM!

5 responses to “Challenging Myself”

  1. ANA says :

    R U DOING FIGHTER DIET?

  2. ANA says :

    R U DOING FIGHTER DIET? YO SAID REFEED?

    • musklemom says :

      Nope I am writting my own diet and my own training ( I do have some help with training from a friend at work). I say refeed because that is what it is, its not a cheat 🙂

  3. Becca says :

    I love your lists, and I need to do all those things too. THe main prob. for me is finding that physique and sticking to it! It takes so much for me to feel and look the way I want – honestly sometimes I DO feel deprived. I need to find out how to have both! I also need to be better about my water!
    When this show is over for me, I am attacking my new plan with a vengance and I have high hopes to be hott all summer! hope you are doing well honey buns!

  4. Ironlady says :

    It’s such a learning process, isn’t it? It’s a mind game, it’s a fun game, it’s a losing game – whatever it is, I think this journey teaches a little bit about ourselves and who we are. Who we can become. Do what makes you happy! If you need a break from competing, take it. It’s always going to be there when and if you decide to come back to it. Find balance, eat healthy, enjoy life! You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

