Rest In Peace Grandma

You were always there for me. Through the tough times you were the one to lift me back up. We had our weekly shopping trips to the Beaver Valley Mall and had lunch and made our way to Baskin Robbins for a scoop of mint chocolate chip icecream. You taught me how to cook those delicious Italian family recipes, remember the pizza we made for Sheba..I believe I was 5.  When my parents divorced you fought hard to get custody of me to raise me. That didn’t work out but grandma please know that I always looked at you as my mother. I admired you and your strenght and will. Moving here to the US at age 17 not having more than a 3rd grade education yet you taught yourself English, learned how to drive, and got a job.  Remember when I was  7 and I tried to teach you how to read? You raised 3 children, and pretty much me too and bought your house. You were the kindest most generous person I will ever meet and I hope to take over that wonderful trait. Im going to miss you so much.  I wish I could have been there by your side those last few days, but please know I was there in spirit. I prayed every night that you were comfortable and at peace.  Of course this is apart of life and we all knew this day would come someday, it doesn’t make it any easier. But knowing that you don’t have to worry anymore and you are no longer in pain makes it a little easier. I know you are with Grandpa, Great Grandma and Grandpa, and Dora. I bet you even are with Sheba (the first Sheba). Grandpa Tusick is there too amongst other friends and family. Someday we will be together again but know that I will be ok.  I wish we could have spent more holidays together. Moving away when I was 8 was tough but you were always with me. And I got to see you every summer. And we talked all the time. I will continue to make you proud. Thank you Grandma for all you did for me. If it wasn’t for you I wouldn’t be who I am today. For that I am forever grateful. In a sense you saved me.

I love you.

About musklemom

I am 33 years old. I am a mother, a friend, a daughter, a girlfriend, a fitness enthusiast, promoter of holistic nutrition and living, Isagenix Consultant, animal lover, country girl, mountain woman, weight lifter...FIT MOM!

3 responses to “Rest In Peace Grandma”

  1. April says :

    This was such a great post Marissa. I take for granted that I still have one of my gma’s living. I will go and visit her this week for sure! YOU made me tear up…you know how hard that is.

  2. Becca says :

    Wow, you totally brought tears to my eyes. Both my grandmas are alive…I need to call them after reading this.
    ❤ u

  3. Julie Reade says :

    Oh Marissa, I’m so sorry for you. I know you really wanted to get out to see her. I hope knowing that she isn’t sick anymore gives you some measure of peace. I hope the knowledge that you will see her again makes your heart sing. Families can be together forever Marissa! I am thinking of you….

Leave a Reply

